top of page
Writer's pictureJessie Mullins

I'm Sorry I Wasn't a Better LGBTQIA Ally

Story time in honor of Pride Month... Some of you may know I used to be a church youth group leader. I had a heart for teaching the grace of Jesus. I had a heart for being real and honest with the kids. But it was hard because as much as our church was "grace based," there was still a lot of shame. "Jesus loves you no matter what...but don't be THAT way. It's okay to come that way, but you should leave a different way." Sometimes I felt like a secret agent. Like I had to be covert. I wanted to tell the kids "It's normal to be sexual! It's okay if you're gay! Your family is still good even if your parents are divorcing!" But some things are off-limits. I tried. But I wish I would have tried harder. I tried to teach on sex one time. Without saying, "I had sex before marriage, so I really freaking get it and I'm not judging you at all if you need a safe person to talk with." But I had to be more covert than that. Very careful with my words. And I still got told to never do a lesson like that again. I knew I'd never be allowed to say I support them if they were LGBTQIA, so instead I shared pro ALL love stuff on my personal FB page. Someone tried to get me kicked off the youth group team for it. And I was told I had to choose which message was more important to me...if I wanted to keep spreading that or keep teaching in the church. So I stayed in the church and figured I could at least be a silent ally if any of the kids came to me about this. But a silent ally is not really an ally! So I wish I could go back in time, smile and nod like a good girl, and then plan one last lesson from my heart. I would say, "I'll die on THIS cross today. IT'S OKAY IF YOU'RE GAY." And then I wish I would have left a place that wanted to box people in, deny people love, and shame people for who they are. I'm sorry I didn't. But I can say it now. To all the kids, especially the kids under the steeples who need to hear this the most. It's okay if you're gay, if you're LGBTQIA. You're LOVED as you are. I celebrate you as you are. PLEASE DON'T CHANGE. Please don't believe them when they say you're wrong. You're right. You're so very right to be who you are and love who you love.



1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commenti


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page